After a car accident there are many questions. One of the most important questions is, who is at fault? If another driver directly caused a car accident that resulted in serious injury or damages that driver, or the driver's insurance company, may be liable for damages. Many people involved in car accidents have questions about how car insurance affects the accident.
Specific insurance details depend on the insurance company and coverage, but liability insurance is standard for all drivers in Nevada. Liability insurance is defined as insurance coverage that pays for damage to another driver's car and any injuries resulting from a car accident for which a driver is found at fault. The minimum threshold for liability insurance is as follows:
- $15,000 of bodily injury coverage per person
- $30,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident
- $10,000 of property damage coverage
These amounts of coverage are often referred to as "15/30/10" by insurance companies. It is possible to be insured for more than this amount of coverage as it relates to another driver's vehicle or healthcare costs. Oftentimes when filing a claim where another driver is at fault, it can be difficult to collect for the dollar amount that you are claiming. It is important to understand the complete facts surrounding the accidents and how Nevada law applies to the situation.
Car accidents are a scary and unfortunate occurrence. They do happen every day in Nevada and come with a range of property damages and related healthcare expenses. After an accident it is recommended that the people involved contact their insurance company immediately in order to begin processing the claim. Any other money that a person believes they are owed due to fault of the other driver can be more difficult to collect.
Source: dmv.org, "Car Insurance in Nevada," Accessed Sept. 22, 2014